Confession: I’m a Secret Dork

Now, the title of this blog might make one think I’m hiding in the corner keeping my dork status under wraps, but if you’ve read this blog in the past you know I wear my Dork badge with pride. Instead, what I’m actually doing is crouching in the corner naked, holding a copy of “The Secret” by Rhonda Byrne, mumbling “My precious,” when anyone happens by.

You can make fun of me for it, but I am coming out of the Secret closet. I can control the Yuniverse wif moi Moind!

Now, if you’ve seen the first few moments of the film version of the Secret, you know it feels like a Kool-Aid and love in type cult propaganda film. After you get past the silly montage of compelling-images-of-various-sinister-and-excited-looking-era-appropriate-archetypes-rushing-and-dodging-the-powers-that-be to keep the-tablet-that-most-certainly-holds-the-answers-to-all-things a secret, there’s an overwhelming amount of cool to be had.

(The chinese food just arrived, so give me a moment while I gorge… God that was delicious)

Anyway, where was I?

Oh yeah! The Secret is made of win. It’s focus is positive thinking, positive visualization and the like – concepts that are preached to us from childhood by any good teacher or parent. Anyone ever heard the phrase, “You can do anything you set your mind to?” When you were a kid you bought it hook line and sinker if you were lucky, but as you grow up, the people around us, the examples we see most often, they affect our sense of wonder and devout self belief. The Secret is basically the reinstatement of those childhood beliefs – you really can do anything you set your mind to. If anyone else tells you you can’t, it’s almost certainly because they don’t believe THEY can and seeing you have faith in yourself just makes them feel worse about themselves.

Let no one tear you down, let no one lead you astray from what you want because of their doubt or naysaying. If someone doesn’t believe in you, its on them alone.

So my suggestion to the world is that everyone should read this book or watch the movie (preferrably both) at least once and try it. Even if it feels weird or strange to have that much faith in something so concrete as one’s self (you’d be surprised how hard it is for someone to have faith in themselves. I actually have a theory that religion was originally created by people who realized that the inherent self doubt in almost all people could be combated if they were given the belief that there was something outside themselves that could do it for them. Faith is faith. Ask anyone and they’ll tell you, it’s powerful stuff.) So yeah, go be a postive motherfucker for a while and see if your life gets better or worse. I’ll make a bet right now I know the outcome.

One thought on “Confession: I’m a Secret Dork

  1. Thank you for posting this…
    I have the audiobook and movie of the secret and nowthe theory means more to me then anything…
    I’m trying to start my own business and when I need it the most, my own father doesn’t believe in me… It hurts more then anything and makes me doubt myself so much….
    When I first saw the secret years ago I followed it blindly and without much wrong in my life at that time… Things happened to me because I willed them to, but now, all I hear in the back of my mind is doubt in my hopefull thoughts…
    It was nice to come across your post and it has renewed my hope and will.. So thank you.
    I hope nothing but the best for you stranger!

Leave a Reply

