Last Week Tonight on Standardized Tests

If the subject didn’t already rile me up, this would have done it.

Watching a smart, exceptional, and motivated young girl grow weepy when describing how something as pointless and ineffective as a Standardized test resulted in her losing her place in an advanced class brought me to tears. Just got home from receiving the results of my daughters school evaluation, discovering that though I now have proof my baby is a genius, my baby also doesn’t do exceptionally well on tests.

I’m already a freakin bawl bag. These tests don’t properly assess the capacities of the children being tested, and they don’t benefit the curriculum. Forcing children to perform on meaningless tests as a means to gain funding is the worst educational endeavor since paddling.

Feast your eyes.

Leave a Reply

